WednesdayMarch 6, 2019

Congratulations to 2019 House-Bruckmann Award nominees

The Faculty Senate is pleased to announce the 2019 nominees for the House-Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Awards:

  • Daniel Anderson (History Dept., Humanities & Sciences)
  • Laura Drake (Paralegal Program, Business Technologies)
  • Meredith Effler (English & Literature Dept., Humanities & Sciences)
  • Michael House (Mathematics Dept., Humanities & Sciences)
  • Candice Jones (Dietetic Technology Program, Business Technologies)
  • Jen Martin (Assoc. of Arts/Assoc. of Science Programs, Humanities & Sciences)
  • Julie McLaughlin (FYE Dept. & Leadership Program, Humanities & Sciences)
  • Janet Schlaak  (Mathematics Dept., Humanities & Sciences)
  • Stephanie Stafford (Mathematics Dept., Humanities & Sciences)
  • Mark Tiemeier (Biology Dept., Health & Public Safety)

Biographical statements from the 2019 nominees and the ballot for selecting the award recipients will be distributed to eligible voters via email next week. Voting will conclude Mar. 27.

Biographies of the nominees also will appear in upcoming editions of Daily News.

A reception to honor the award recipients and all of the other nominees will take place Monday, Apr. 8, during Common Time.

History of the House-Bruckmann Awards

The House-Bruckmann Faculty Excellence Awards were established in 1985 to recognize excellence in instruction and co-op/clinical coordination at the College.

The awards are named for Clifford R. House (photo at right), the first president of Cincinnati Technical College, and Alice P. Bruckmann, a member of the College's first Board of Trustees.

In 1994, the award criteria were changed to incorporate a variety of faculty responsibilities.

The award recognizes full-time faculty members who have served at the College for at least three years and have demonstrated outstanding effectiveness in accomplishing their faculty responsibilities, as well as outstanding achievements in service to students, professional growth and development, and other contributions to the College and community.

Two faculty members are chosen each year to receive the awards, through a peer nomination process followed by final voting by faculty members and academic administrators.

This year's honored faculty members will join a group of past recipients who serve as role models for faculty excellence at Cincinnati State.

Welcome Web & Digital Manager Amy Wagner

Cincinnati State's new Website and Digital Manager, Amy Wagner (on the right, with her husband, John, and their "fur baby" dog, Lady Lucy), joined the College in late January 2019.

Before coming to Cincinnati State, Amy spent five years as the Business Development Manager and Marketing Department Manager for Oxford Physical Therapy Centers.

Her responsibilities were focused on managing the Oxford Physical Therapy Centers' website and social media pages, as well as developing relationships throughout the region with physicians and other direct referral partners.

Amy's hobbies include playing sand volleyball, golfing, cooking, exploring local breweries, working out, and cheering for the Bengals and the Reds!

Amy is originally from Toledo, OH. She earned a Bachelor of Arts in Communication from the University of Toledo.

Amy and John married in September of 2018. They reside in Norwood.

You can reach Amy at or 569-5812.

Helpers needed for Dean's List Reception on Mar. 8

Over 400 students, plus their family members and guests, are expected on Clifton Campus on Friday, Mar. 8, from 3 to 5 p.m., for the annual Dean's List and Merit List Reception.

Faculty and staff volunteers are needed to assist with the event, which could have more than 1,000 attendees (based on the RSVP count so far).

Volunteer needs include helping with event set-up (near the Overlook Cafe) in the early afternoon, as well as:

  • greeting guests
  • preparing and distributing recognition certificates (volunteers with excellent handwriting will be appreciated)
  • assisting with photographs (a popular activity, as seen in the photo above from the 2018 reception)
  • helping with the food and beverage line (along with volunteers from the College Alumni Association)

If you can assist, please send an email message ASAP to Meredith Effler (

The 2019 reception recognizes students who earned Dean's List status (3.5 GPA and 12 credit hours or more completed during the semester) or Merit List status (3.5 GPA and 6 to 11 credit hours completed) in Spring, Summer, and/or Fall Semester of 2018.

Faculty and staff members who cannot assist are welcome to visit the reception to congratulate and celebrate our students' academic achievements.

The Middletown Campus reception for Dean's List and Merit List students will take place Thursday, Mar. 14, from 4-6 p.m. More than 40 students and their guests are expected to attend.

Video & slides posted for Feb. 25 College Updates

If you missed the Feb. 25 Common Time with College Updates on Enrollment Strategies, Strategic Planning, and other topics, the video recording of the session is available at

Please note that the audio portion of the recording doesn't begin until 5 and a half minutes after the start of the video.  IT Services regrets this technical inconvenience.

The video includes all of the presentation slides, or you can download and view the slides separately:

The video recording includes several "bookmarks" (image below) that allow you to jump to a specific section of the recording by clicking a link.

The video recordings for many past Common Time sessions (starting in Jan. 2018) are posted on the College intranet:

  • Go to the How the College Works intranet area
  • Select the Academics link
  • Select the Common Time Recordings folder

The schedule of all Common Time topics for Spring Semester 2019 also is posted on the intranet in How the College Works > Academics > Common Time Schedule.

CState provided expertise at national FYE conference

FYE Professor and Department Chair Julie McLaughlin presented a pre-conference workshop during the 38th Annual Conference on the First-Year Experience, held Feb. 16-19, under sponsorship of the National Resource Center for the First-Year Experience and Students in Transition.

The National Resource Center is based at the University of South Carolina.

Julie's half-day workshop on "Designing and Delivering an Effective First-Year Experience Course at 2-Year Institutions" was a co-presentation with Joe Cuseo (on the right in photo), Professor Emeritus at Marymount California University and a nationally-renowned expert on first year experience courses and student retention.

Julie said the workshop session was well-attended, and she noted that Cincinnati State continues to be recognized as a national leader in effective design and implementation of First Year Experience courses at two-year colleges.

in the know
Today's Chef Choice

Operations suspended

Overlook Café closed

Bakery Hill closed

Job Posting

current EVENTS
This WeekView All


(All day)
All campuses (virtual classes)
9:00 am to 11:30 am
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
11:00 am to 12:00 pm
ATLC 211
6:00 pm to 8:30 pm
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)


9:00 am to 10:00 am
Register online
9:00 am to 11:30 am
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)



Looking AheadView All
Tue, Jun 09
Register online
Tue, Jun 09
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Thu, Jun 11
Register online
Thu, Jun 11
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)
Fri, Jun 12
ATLC 211
Tue, Jun 16
Register online
Tue, Jun 16
ATLC 211 (Auditorium)